Check If No Collision?

Discussion in 'How Can I...?' started by Colton Crawford, Dec 29, 2021.

1. Colton Crawford

Colton Crawford Boxer

Hello,
    I'm trying to make a simple box launching game where boxes have to be placed in the proper areas to complete the level. I've got trigger objects on the correct locations that check for a collision with a box, and if there is one, adds a point.
    However, if that box gets removed from the location, I want to subtract a point.
    Is there a way to check when there isn't a collision? I've tried using the Invert Signal node after an If Collide node, but that still requires there to be a collision in the first place. The basic logic I'm trying to make is this:
    - If collision > Check if added point > If not, add point
    - If No collision > Check if removed point > if not, remove point
    I have some Javascript experience so I'm fine with writing a bit of script if I have to, I just can't figure out how to make the target object actively check if a collision is currently happening, rather than just having something trigger in the event of a collision. I wish the If Collision node was editable, I feel like it would be pretty easy to reverse the collision check in-code, but I can't figure out how to make it happen using the node system.
    I hope this makes sense! Any help would be much appreciated!

2. Colton Crawford

Colton Crawford Boxer

Ok I actually got very close. After the first collision when the point is added, I add a point and set a timer. The timer waits 2 seconds then removes a point, and checks for another collision, and if found, adds a point. This way whenever the timer goes off, a point is removed, and if there is a collision, another one is added.