Pickup Displayed On Ui Screen

Discussion in 'How Can I...?' started by jnewc54, Apr 4, 2022.

1. jnewc54

jnewc54 Boxer

Hello, I'm new to Buildbox and I was hoping to get some help. I have a pickup item I need displayed on my UI screen after my character has picked it up during gameplay. Also, This item will be in my coin shop for purchase and I need it to be displayed on the UI screen after the player purchases it. I want the icon to be darkened and then be at full opacity when it's available for the player to use. I know there's a way to do this, but I can't find any info or tutorials on it. Any help would would be appreciated, thanks!

2. spicedbeangames

spicedbeangames Miniboss Boxer

Is this Buildbox 2 or 3? In both versions, the Unlock UI button is what you can use to control items/purchases in game. The locked part is for your locked image - so you can either use a padlock or darken the icon of the item, then when unlocked, drop in the same icon but without the darkened effect.

You can find out more about the shop/icons here -

3. jnewc54

jnewc54 Boxer

Thanks for the reply. I apologize, I need to be more clear. Thanks for the video by the way, this helps, but I need the three icons from the coin shop to be darkened on my UI in the game, and then after purchased have the icon(s) be at full opacity on the UI. I've attached a screenshot of a scene with my UI buttons. The gray icons (graphics haven't been created yet) at the bottom will be the coin shop items available. Darkened when not purchased and at full opacity after purchased and ready for the player/character to use in the game. Forgive me, this is all new to me...i'm a rookie still learning. thanks for the help, much appreciated!

Attached Files:

4. jnewc54

jnewc54 Boxer

and i'm using Buildbox 3....making a 2D platformer.

5. spicedbeangames

spicedbeangames Miniboss Boxer